Leave InformationMedical Leave....FMLA....NJFLA....NJFLIPRIOR NOTIFICATIONEmployees are to provide Human Resources thirty (30) days notification prior to the commencement of the leave. Leaves are to be approved by the Millville Board of Education. Employee must have required FMLA paperwork filled out prior to their leave. No photocopies or faxes accepted. This 30 day notification may be waived in case of an emergency situation. In an emergency situation, the employee must provide proper documentation as soon as feasibly possible.SICK LEAVE/SICK DAYSEmployees requesting sick leave are able to use their available sick days during their own personal sick leave. If you do not have available sick days, you will be unpaid up to 12 weeks using FMLA. You may not use sick leave for a family illness, personal use, vacation, etc. Please refer to your contract.
FAMILY LEAVE INSURANCE Employees requesting family leave are not able to use their available sick days. Through the FMLA and NJ FLA, you are allowed time off, unpaid, 12 weeks is maximum, to take care of a family member with a serious health condition: spouse, civil union partner, parent, child (18 years or younger), in-laws, step-parent.
INTERMITTENT LEAVE Employees may request intermittent leave, through FMLA and or NJFLA. This will allow you to take leave, not consecutively, to take care of an illness or an ill family member.
HEALTH BENEFITS Health Benefits (medical, dental, vision, prescription) will continue during your paid sick leave. Unpaid employees will only have 12 weeks of coverage. Employee must continue to make required portion of premium payments to these plans. Failure to make such payments will result in the termination of benefits. You will receive a statement that will indicate the amount due and due date. If an employee chooses to drop insurance benefits while on an extended leave of absence, benefits can be reinstated upon returning toThe Family and Medical Leave Act
The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) entitles eligible employees of covered employers to take unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family and medical reasons. This fact sheet provides general information about which employers are covered by the FMLA, when employees are eligible and entitled to take FMLA leave, and what rules apply when employees take FMLA leave.
* Covered Employees
The FMLA only applies to employers that meet certain criteria. A covered employer is a:
- Private-sector employer, with 50 or more employees in 20 or more workweeks in the current or preceding calendar year, including a joint employer or successor in interest to a covered employer;
- Public agency, including a local, state, or Federal government agency, regardless of the number of employees it employs; or
- Public or private elementary or secondary school, regardless of the number of employees it employs.
* Eligible Employees
Only eligible employees are entitled to take FMLA leave. An eligible employee is one who:
- Works for a covered employer;
- Has worked for the employer for at least 12 months;
- Has at least 1,250 hours of service for the employer during the 12 month period immediately preceding the leave* and
- Works at a location where the employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles.
NJ Family Leave ActThe New Jersey Division on Civil Rights enforces the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA), which requires covered employers to grant eligible employees time off from work in connection with the birth or adoption of a child or the serious illness of a parent, child or spouse. The NJFLA's definition of "parent" includes a parent-in-law or a stepparent. The NJFLA provides for up to twelve weeks of leave in a 24-month period. The 24-month period begins on the first day of the employee's first NJFLA leave.* Employee must have worked 1000 hours or more in the preceding 12 months.* Employee must have been employed for at least 12 months.* You are not paid through Millville Public Schools for this leaveFamily Leave InsuranceEmployees may file, NJ Family Leave Insurance if you are taking care of an ill family member: spouse, civil union partner, parent or child ( 19 years or younger). This does not include in-law or step-parent of any kind. If approved by the state, you may receive up to 6 weeks of benefits.Proper paperwork, Form FL-1 may be obtained through our Human Resources Office.
Rules/Regulations during your Approved Leave
An employee may not volunteer or perform any duties for MPS or utilize MPS property for personal use.
Turn in all MPS property prior to the leave.
It is the employee’s responsibility to advise the principal/supervisor of the expected dates of the extended leave of absence.
Employee must make arrangements for a substitute and have directions/plans available for that substitute.
If you fail to turn in a return to work doctor’s certificate, your pay will be stopped. Pay may not be processed by the next pay date following your reinstatement. Your pay will be adjusted over the remaining portion of the contract pay dates. No manual checks for retroactive pay will be processed.
If an extension is required, you must complete the approved paperwork prior to your initial leave date. If this is not completed on time, the leave could be denied and pay will be stopped.
Employees failing to return to work after the 12 weeks of unpaid Family and Medical Leave, may be asked to obtain a Fitness for Duty Physical by our district’s approved physician.
Employees failing to return to work after the 12 weeks of unpaid FMLA, may be dismissed from his/her position.
RETURNING TO WORK: Employee will need to submit an original doctor’s certificate to the Human Resources Office. Employee may return to work site only after doctor’s certificate has been received.
Please direct all questions to:
Executive Assistant of HR
856-327-7590 - phone
856-825-1545 – fax