Human Resources » Employee Leave

Employee Leave

 
Employee Leave Information
Medical Leave | FMLA | NJFLA | NJFLI | Intermittent | Maternity
 
Prior Notification
Employees are to provide Human Resources thirty (30) days notification prior to the commencement of the leave. Leaves are to be approved by the Millville Board of Education.
The employee must have required FMLA paperwork filled out prior to their leave.
No photocopies or faxes accepted.
 
This 30 day notification may be waived in case of an emergency situation.
In an emergency situation, the employee must provide proper documentation as soon as feasibly possible.
 
📋 First Step: Leave Application
A Leave Application must be submitted for every type of leave. The employee must complete the online application and submit it to Human Resources, which will review the application and respond within 24-48 hours.
 
Medical Leave Information
 
📎 Sick Leave / Sick Days
  • Sick Leave (10 or more days) - Sick days may be used if it is your own personal illness. A Leave Application and a detailed doctor's statement must be received prior to your leave. 
📎 The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
  • The FMLA entitles eligible employees of covered employers to take unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family and one's own medical reasons with continuation of group health insurance coverage under the same terms and conditions as if the employee had not taken leave.
  • Family members include: spouse, parent, or child under the age of 18. You may use sick time for your own illness. 
 
Eligible Employees
  • Only eligible employees are entitled to take FMLA leave. An eligible employee is one who:
    • Works for a covered employer
    • Has worked for the employer for at least 12 months
    • Has at least 1,250 hours of service for the employer during the 12 month period immediately preceding the leave
    • Works at a location where the employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles
 
📎 The NJ Family Leave Act (NJFLA)
  • The New Jersey Division on Civil Rights enforces the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA), which requires covered employers to grant eligible employees time off from work in connection with the birth or adoption of a child or the serious illness of a parent, child or spouse. The NJFLA's definition of "parent" includes a parent-in-law or a stepparent. The NJFLA provides for up to twelve weeks of leave in a 24-month period. The 24-month period begins on the first day of the employee's first NJFLA leave.
 
Eligible Employees
  • Only eligible employees are entitled to take NJFLA leave. An eligible employee is one who:
    • Has worked for the employer for at least 12 months
    • Has at least 1,000 hours of service for the employer during the 12 month period immediately preceding the leave
    • Is NOT paid through Millville Public Schools
 
📎 NJ Family Leave Insurance (NJFLI)
  • The State of NJ offers 12 weeks or up to 56 days of supplemental insurance to bond with an infant or take care of a seriously ill family member (spouse, child under age of 18 or parent).
  • You must file online directly with the state (see link below). The claimant will receive up to 85% of their pay. The employee will not receive payment until benefits have been paid for the 3rd week.
  • Human Resources will complete their portion, send it to the State of NJ, and send a copy to you. After the paperwork is submitted, Millville Public Schools cannot contact the State of NJ regarding your claim.
 
☎  609-292-7060
 
📎 Intermittent Leave
  • Employees may request intermittent leave through FMLA and or NJFLA. This will allow you to take leave, not consecutively, to take care of an illness or an ill family member.
  • A schedule must be approved with your supervisor or building principal and paperwork must be completed based on which leave you are applying for.
  • Intermittent days can be taken in half or full days. A total of 56 Intermittent Days can be taken.
 
📎 Maternity Leave
  • Employees must submit a completed Leave Application with a doctor's certificate or FMLA form to Human Resources at least 30 days prior to maternity leave. One the form is received, the employee will be contacted by Human Resources to schedule the leave. All leaves must be approved by the Millville Board of Education.
  • Employees are granted 4 weeks before and 4-6 weeks after depending on the birth. If an employee is in need of a longer leave based on a disability, they must provide a doctor's certificate.
  • The employee must work 90 days to advance to the next step on the salary scale.
  • If the employee does not have enough sick days to cover the maternity leave, they will be placed on unpaid leave for the time they are off. If on unpaid leave, the district will not pay into the employee's pension. The employee may buy back their time if they choose to do so. For information, please contact:
 
Payroll Office - Pension: Leslie Morello
🔗 MPS Pension Webpage
 
📎Health Benefits
  • Employee health benefits (medical, dental, vision, and prescription) will continue during paid leave.
  • If an employee is taking unpaid leave, they must contact the Payroll Office to find out when coverage will end:
 
Payroll Office - Health Benefits: Stephanie Gross-Turner
🔗 MPS Health Benefits Webpage
 
📎 Returning to Work
  • The employee must submit an original doctor’s certificate to the Human Resources Office. The employee may return to work site only after doctor’s certificate has been received.
 
📎 Approved Leave Rules and Regulations
  • The employee may not volunteer or perform any duties for MPS or utilize MPS property for personal use.
  • The employee must turn in all MPS property prior to the leave.
  • It is the employee’s responsibility to advise the principal/supervisor of the expected dates of the extended leave of absence.
  • If the employee fails to turn in a Return to Work doctor’s certificate, their pay will be stopped. Pay may not be processed by the next pay date following reinstatement. Pay will be adjusted over the remaining portion of the contract pay dates. No manual checks for retroactive pay will be processed.
  • If an extension is required, the employee must complete the approved paperwork prior to the initial leave date. If this is not completed on time, the leave could be denied and pay will be stopped.
  • Employees failing to return to work after the 12 weeks of unpaid Family and Medical Leave may be asked to obtain a Fitness for Duty Physical by the district’s approved physician.
  • Employees failing to return to work after the 12 weeks of unpaid FMLA may be dismissed from their position.